jump to navigation

Behind the Scenes at the IEC 2016 February 4, 2016

Posted by Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD in Archdiocese of Cebu, International Eucharistic Congress, SVD, SVD Philippine Southern Province, Year of Mercy.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback
Our students  of the University of San Carlos AB Communications together with Cardinal Tagle (Photo Credit: Teresa Tan)

Our students of the University of San Carlos AB Communications together with Cardinal Tagle (Photo Credit: Teresa Tan)

The 51st International Eucharistic Congress is already over but the #IEC Fever lives on! I was so busy the past few days, I wanted to share so many things! Here are some of the behind the scenes:

I did not expect to see Fr. Roy Cimagala, one of the Filpino priest-writers I really looked up to, during the opening of the International Eucharistic Congress. So, after the Holy Mass, I really approached him for a "pakodak"!

I did not expect to see Fr. Roy Cimagala, one of the Filpino priest-writers I really looked up to, during the opening of the International Eucharistic Congress. So, after the Holy Mass, I really approached him for a “pakodak”!

The photo of the IEC program guide was courtesy Fr. Generoso Rebayla, SVD.

The photo of the IEC program guide was courtesy Fr. Generoso Rebayla, SVD.

I was happy to pick up Bishop Roberto Mallari and Bishop Honesto Ongtioco at the hotel where they were staying because our SVD community invited the bishops for dinner. Fr. Bobby Ebisa, SVD and I toured them around our DYRF Radio station first.

I was happy to pick up Bishop Roberto Mallari and Bishop Honesto Ongtioco at the hotel where they were staying because our SVD community invited the bishops for dinner. Fr. Bobby Ebisa, SVD and I toured them around our DYRF Radio station first.

When Charles Cardinal Maung Bo of Myanmar was invited for an intimate dinner away from the eyes of the media, we never missed the opportunity for a souvenir photo with him. In his speech, he revealed that he invited the SVDs to establish a mission area in Myanmar. He asked us to “hurry up” the process. :)

When Charles Cardinal Maung Bo of Myanmar was invited for an intimate dinner away from the eyes of the media, we never missed the opportunity for a souvenir photo with him. In his speech, he revealed that he invited the SVDs to establish a mission area in Myanmar. He asked us to “hurry up” the process.🙂

The Pink Sisters were present at the IEC! I talked to Sr. Mary Ligaya, SSpSap, and she said they received the permission from their Mother General.

The Pink Sisters were present at the IEC! I talked to Sr. Mary Ligaya, SSpSap, and she said they received the permission from their Mother General.

Five thousand children received their First Communion during the IEC 2016. One of them was Daniel Cabrera, the viral boy photographed doing his homework near a McDonald’s restaurant in Cebu. He is not the one in photo. Lol. That’s Cardinal Vidal, the first communicant of 1937 IEC in Manila.

Five thousand children received their First Communion during the IEC 2016. One of them was Daniel Cabrera, the viral boy photographed doing his homework near a McDonald’s restaurant in Cebu. He is not the one in photo. Lol. That’s Cardinal Vidal, the first communicant of 1937 IEC in Manila.

During the Farewell Mass, it was announced that the next International Eucharistic Congress in 2020 will  be in Hungary. Kitakits!

During the Farewell Mass, it was announced that the next International Eucharistic Congress in 2020 will be in Hungary. Kitakits!

 

I was in the sea of priests! When I looked at this photo, I just found out that I was only two priests away from another blogger priest, Fr. Utoy.

I was in the sea of priests! When I looked at this photo, I just found out that I was only two priests away from another blogger priest, Fr. Utoy.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

