jump to navigation

Congratulations, Winners of 17th Cebu Archdiocesan Mass Media Awards (2015) September 12, 2015

Posted by Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD in Archdiocese of Cebu, Cebu, Communications Ministry, Year of the Poor.
Tags: , , ,
(Photo Credit: Rowena Capistrano)

(Photo Credit: Rowena Capistrano)


DYRF, the AM radio of the Word Broadcasting Corporation, received a special citation from the 17th Cebu Archdiocesan Mass Media Awards (CAMMA) for its valuable contribution to Catholic radio ministry. The award was received by news director Fred Quinio and ace reporter Rowena Capistrano.



The CAMMA is a program of the Cebu Archdiocesan Commission on Social Communications. It started in 1991 and was held annually until 1998. It is now organized every two years. It aims to encourage media practitioners in print, tv and radio to spread God-centered messages and Christian values.



Msgr. Agustin Ancajas, the head of the Cebu Archdiocesan Commission on Social Communications affirmed the role of media in evangelization: “The gathering of almost a hundred individuals who acted as jurors…is a recognition of the desire of many to continue to believe in the power of media to take an active role and responsibility in creating a media climate in Cebu that truly upholds the spiritual and moral well-being of media consumers.”



Earlier this year, DYRF gave a full blast media coverage of the Papal Visit in the Philippines. Together with station mananger Fr. Roberto Ebisa, SVD, our reporters Rowena Capistrano, Frank Benedicto, Alex Bolongaita and Manolito Languido were sent to Tacloban for Pope Francis’ Holy Mass with the victims of Typhoon Yolanda.



In March, the first ever Shepherd’s Cup, a fun-golf tournament was held at the Alta Vista Golf and Country Club – Cebu to support the radio programs of the Archdiocese. The ceremonial toss was done by Archbishop Jose S. Palma, Archbishop of Cebu.



Here are some of the WINNERS:


Best Editorial Cartooning (English): Sunstar Daily

Best Editorial Cartooning (Cebuano): Ariel Itumay Sun Star Superbalita

Best Column Writing in English: Fr. Roy Roy Amora Cimagala

Best Column Writing in Cebuano: Jaybee Binghay

Best in Special Investigative Reporting (English): Cherry Ann Lim Sunstar Daily

Best in Special Investigative Reporting (Cebuano): Oghearty lopez

Best Feature Writing (English): Ador Mayol

Best Feature Writing (Cebuano): Shiela Sheila Cui Gravinez

Best News Writing (English): Ador Mayol

Best TV News Program: TV Patrol Central Visayas

Best TV Advertising: Puso Lloren Associates

Best Radio Advertising: Kalampusan (DYHP)

Best Print Advertising: Puso Lloren Associates

Best Billboard Advertising: Fine Fellows

Best Radio Drama: DYSS

Best Radio News Program: Balita sa Alas-Siete (DYLA)

Best Radio Public Affairs Program: Morning Na Cebu (DYSS)



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: