jump to navigation

SHORT ESSAY ABOUT THE PHILIPPINES March 11, 2008

Posted by Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD in JPIC, Politics.
Tags: ,
trackback
Friends,
I got this from my yahoo group and this is only one of the few forwarded emails i really spent time to read on, from top to bottom. I believe we can learn something from this essay.
-Felmar Fiel, svd-

As you know, we have plenty of Koreans currently studying in the
Philippines to take advantage of our cheaper tuition fees and learn
English at the same time. “When I went home to Iloilo last February,
I observed the presence of So. Koreans everywhere we went.
`I asked some of them why study English here. The response was –
Filipinos speak clearly, slowly and easy for us to understand than
any other English speaking country in the world. ”
–Vic Evaristo —

This is an essay written by a Korean student I want to share with
you. This should be a wake up call to every Filipino.

(Never mind the grammar; it’s the CONTENT that counts)

MY SHORT ESSAY ABOUT THE PHILIPPINES
by Jaeyoun Kim

Filipinos always complain about the corruption in the Philippines. Do
you really think the corruption is the problem of the Philippines? I
do not think so. I strongly believe that the problem is the lack of
love for the Philippines.

Let me first talk about my country, Korea. It might help you
understand my point. After the Korean War, South Korea was one of the
poorest countries in the world. Koreans had to start from scratch
because entire country was destroyed after the Korean War, and we had
no natural resources.

Koreans used to talk about the Philippines, for Filipinos were very
rich in Asia. We envy Filipinos. Koreans really wanted to be well
off like Filipinos. Many Koreans died of famine. My father & brother
also died because of famine. Korean government was very corrupt and
is still very corrupt beyond your
imagination, but Korea was able to develop dramatically because
Koreans really did their best for the common good with their heart
burning with patriotism.

Koreans did not work just for themselves but also for their
neighborhood and country. Education inspired young men with the
spirit of patriotism. 40 years ago, President Park took over the
government to reform Korea. He tried to borrow money from other
countries, but it was not possible to get a loan and attract a
foreign investment because the economic situation of South Korea was
so bad. Korea had only three factories. So, President Park sent many
mine workers and nurses to Germany so that they could send money to
Korea to build a factory. They had to go through horrible experience.

In 1964, President Park visited Germany to borrow money. Hundred of
Koreans in Germany came to the airport to welcome him and cried there
as they saw the President Park. They asked to him, “President, when
can we be well off?” That was the only question everyone asked to
him. President Park cried with them and promised them that Korea
would be well off if everyone works hard for Korea, and the President
of Germany got the strong impression on them and lent money to Korea.
So, President Park was able to build many factories in Korea. He
always asked Koreans to love their country from their heart.

Many Korean scientists and engineers in the USA came back to Korea to
help developing country because they wanted their country to be well
off. Though they received very small salary, they did their best for
Korea. They always hoped that their children would live in well off
country. My parents always brought me to the places where poor and
physically handicapped people live. They wanted me to understand
their life and help them. I also worked for Catholic Church when I
was in the army. The only thing I learned from Catholic Church was
that we have to love our neighborhood. And, I have loved my
neighborhood. Have you cried for the Philippines? I have cried for my
country several times. I also cried for the Philippines because of so
many poor people. I have been to the New Bilibid prison. What made me
sad in the prison were the prisoners who do not have any love for
their country. They go to mass and work for Church. They pray
everyday.

However, they do not love the Philippines. I talked to two prisoners
at the maximum-security compound, and both of them said that they
would leave the Philippines right after they are released from the
prison. They said that they would start a new life in other countries
and never come back to the Philippines.

Many Koreans have a great love for Korea so that we were able to
share our wealth with our neighborhood. The owners of factory and
company were distributed their profit to their employees fairly so
that employees could buy what they needed and saved money for the
future and their children.

When I was in Korea, I had a very strong faith and wanted to be a
priest. However, when I came to the Philippines, I completely lost my
faith. I was very confused when I saw many unbelievable situations in
the Philippines. Street kids always make me sad, and I see them
everyday. The Philippines is the only
Catholic country in Asia, but there are too many poor people here.
People go to church every Sunday to pray, but nothing has been
changed.

My parents came to the Philippines last week and saw this situation.
They told me that Korea was much poorer than the present Philippines
when they were young. They are so sorry that there are so many
beggars and street kids. When we went to Pasangjan, I forced my
parents to take a boat because it would fun. However, they were not
happy after taking a boat. They said that they would not take the
boat again because they were sympathized the boatmen, for the boatmen
were very poor and had a small frame. Most of people just took a boat
and enjoyed it. But, my parents did not enjoy it because of love for
them.

My mother who has been working for Catholic Church since I was very
young told me that if we just go to mass without changing ourselves,
we are not Catholic indeed. Faith should come with action. She added
that I have to love Filipinos and do good things for them because all
of us are same and have received a great love from God. I want
Filipinos to love their neighborhood and country as much as they love
God so that the Philippines will be well off.

I am sure that love is the keyword, which Filipinos should remember.
We cannot change the sinful structure at once. It should start from
person. Love must start in everybody, in a small scale and have to
grow. A lot of things happen if we open up to love. Let’s put away
our prejudices and look at our worries with our new eyes.

I discover that every person is worthy to be loved. Trust in love,
because it makes changes possible. Love changes you and me. It
changes people, contexts and relationships. It changes the world.
Please love your neighborhood and country.

Jesus Christ said that whatever we do to others we do to Him. In the
Philippines, there is God for people who are abused and abandoned.
There is God who is crying for love. If you have a child, teach them
how to love the Philippines. Teach them why they have to love their
neighborhood and country. You already know that God also will be very
happy if you love others. That’s all I really want to ask you
Filipinos.
———— ——–
(FOR THE LOVE OF OUR COUNTRY PLEASE PASS THIS
MESSAGE TO ALL FILIPINOS YOU KNOW).

JO5L0051

____________________

RECOMMENDED POSTS:

Comments»

1. Anonymous - March 11, 2008

oh, very touching essay. i just hope that it will touch the hearts of the filipinos. btw, i am an american.

louie smith, usa

2. iloveindia - March 11, 2008

“in a Christian country like the philippines, there should be no smokey mountain.”

“poverty is not created by God. we are the ones to be blamed because we do not share.”

Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta

3. dante - March 11, 2008

i have all the good words for the koreans for the love they have for their country. i sensed that many of our Filipino countrymen who made an exodus outside the Philippines do not want to come back anymore because they have already found greener pastures.

4. Angelita Tenorio-Barlongo - March 12, 2008

this is so true… most of our kababayan don’t love the philippines, they find no hope here in our country… for them there’s no life here… i heard these very words from my own sister who is applying for dubai, and it saddens me too much because for me there are so many opportunities the philippines hold for the filipinos, it is just that we lack the sight to see it.

filipinos leave the philippines simply because they don’t want to be filipinos, they don’t want to be a part of a country with system which is corrupt and shameless. they don’t want to work for our country to become better. they don’t want to give their effort and time to build this country to become a better place to live in…

most filipinos are lazy and selfish, why? because they don’t want to work, to do something for the better of our country, instead they demand what our country could do for them, thus these filipinos leave and go to countries which could do so much for them.

and one more thing, where in the world can you find a country with no tinge of corruption? none…

love for the country, sense of patriotism, if only filipnos could find this in their hearts….

I am a proud FILIPINO, i was given many times the chance and opportunity to leave the country but i declined… my God-given talents, my energy, everything about me is only for the Philippines, because I am a Filipino…

http://child-raising.blogspot.com

5. arelente2 - March 12, 2008

Our Christian Living teacher read that to us….

6. Felix S. Ferrer - March 12, 2008

Thanks for posting this essay. It sure touched me as I was reading it. I can use it also for my retreat. Btw, a very happy birthday to you. May the Lord continue to bless you.

7. lethalverses - March 14, 2008

wow. ang lupit, may pangil at nakakakilabot na mensahe…

ang gaganda ng photos mo, lalo na ang batang nakasilip sa kotse. maaari ko ba itong “hiramin” sa blog ko at gagamitin ko sa tinatapos kong tula hinggil sa isang batang pulubing kagaya niya?

maraming salamat. mabuhay ka!

8. Anonymous - March 15, 2008

Bro, thank you so much for sending me those messages. You are so creative and up to date with what is happening around us.
Thanks bro

mike namba

9. Junelle - March 19, 2008

are you from iloilo? If you are please send profile to Iloilo Bloggers. Check http://iloilobloggers.com/faqs

10. bingskee - March 22, 2008

it’s a sad thing that we cannot stop the exodus out of the Philippines. the fact is, a lot of the Filipinos are tired. i dont think that everyone who lives does not love the country. it is but the need to provide and alleviate that drive them to leave, and some others stay for good because what will become of them in the Philippines?

what makes me sad is my kids who belong to this generation and are currently studying in UP pronounce that they can work abroad but not stay abroad. they say who will take of the country when everybody leaves. i hope their love for their country will be reciprocated someday.

i give kudos to the korean for his essay. nice take.

11. bingskee - March 22, 2008

erratum:

i dont think that everyone who ‘leaves’…

what makes me ‘glad’

Sorry, must be the fatigue and lack of sleep.. LOL


Leave a Reply

